Back From (Away From Blog)

What can really be said?  The whole point of this blog is to strike the balance between the game and real life (particularly when family is involved).  It has been a long couple of months since my last post and thought it would be good to fire this backup.  So here we go!

I have spent the last couple of months gearing my main, Kaneka.  I did respec him from Frostfire to Arcane so I could try to get him into some raids.  I also did a major financial grind to get 8.5k gold so I could obtain the battered hilt.  I have seen it drop in Pit of Saron a few times but my rolls have been crap lately.  But Man ‘o Man is that an awesome sword for casters: Quel’Delar: Lens of the Mind!  And to top it off, last week, I was able to go into ICC 10 man and give it a go.

It was very hard for me to find a spot in a run with my guild.  A lot of the runs started around 6pm server which my kids are still awake so the only way I could do that is if my incredible wife would be willing to take the kids solo for the evening.  I knew I wouldn’t be on a static team, but when the stars aligned, I was able to sign up for a 10 man.

I was able to sub in until the normally rostered player showed up (about an hour or so from what I was told).  Now I had not set foot in ICC until then and in that one run, we managed to get down, Lord Marrowgar, Lady Deathwhisper, Saurfang, Festergut, and Rotface!  The whole time the only problems I really had were with Deathwhisper (got hit by a bolt and killed) and we wiped once on Rotface.  I should have taken screens, but I didn’t think about it at the time.  I was very excited to just be in the raid.  From that run, I replaced my Ward of the Violet Citadel and Sunstrider’s Hood of Conquest with Scourgelord’s Baton and Thaumaturge’s Crackling Cowl.

I feel like the run went really well for my first time in ICC.  I ended up leaving after Rotface because the normally scheduled player did come online, but I do think if I stunk up the joint, they would have told me.  And they invited me back for tonight’s continuation… although I do not believe that will be possible due to soccer and other things going on with the kids.  It was a very exciting night and I hope to have another run soon.

I also began the slog of the Netherwing rep grind.  I am currently Honored, and I want my netherdrakes!  It looks like my next raid will be next week if I can land another sub spot with that same team.  We will see!

~ by gramstead on April 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
